The things I can’t control…

image2 (18)

Adding some color to the woods

I chose this title for my post because there are a few things I can’t control right now…

  • My “ass” issue
  • The clock
  • The calendar
  • Aging bones
  • Wrinkles
  • The rain
  • My schizophrenic cat

The “ass” issue I speak of has essentially grounded me as I was just coming into the strongest I have ever been.  I feel as if I had no warning and it hit me like a freight train. All of my reading, chats with Coach, my massage miracle worker and my friend with a former ass issue leads me to believe I am dealing with piriformus syndrome.  The soreness and dull ache starts deep in my right buttock and radiates down through my hamstring and into the back of my knee.  During my walk today, I felt twinges down to my big toe.  The only thing I can do is get a diagnosis, follow a recovery and strength plan and STOP freaking out.  All injured runners know this is easier said than done.

I had a scheduled 33 mile run this weekend, instead I am desperately trying to keep my mind off the loss of that run and stay mentally focused and busy.  Pineland is my 50 mile qualifier and my ONLY chance for VT100 in 2017.  I don’t even want to whisper how many days away that qualifier is from now.

I keep waiting for this to get better but it just keeps forging on with the same symptoms and little relief.  It’s ANNOYING!!!! Ultimately, I need to just realize the only thing I can control is my ability to get treatment and how I manage the recovery plan.  With some luck, I will be able to gut out my qualifier and get my training back on track.  I am NOT ready to quit yet…. hell we were just getting started!

image1 (22)

View from my lunch runs (or walks these days)

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kristaalderdice
    May 07, 2017 @ 03:27:57

    Have you gone to a chiropractor?? Sending you healing vibes girl xoxo

    Reply

  2. kristaalderdice
    May 07, 2017 @ 18:15:55

    That’s good Heather, sometimes when one thing is misaligned it will create other problems. I swear by my chiro gal, Astrid and Jon and Guy see her as well……You could always go see her, she’s a miracle worker. She does it out of her home……a bit of a drive, but would be worth it……I’m hoping you get relief soon my friend……..xoxoxox

    Reply

  3. horsegnut
    May 08, 2017 @ 00:42:02

    ❤ thinking good thoughts for your ass! 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

