Feelings

spring-fever

This shit can end anytime.  I am pissy, I am done with snow and I am straight up achy. How is that for a blog post intro?  If you were looking for sunshine and buttercups, let me know when you find them because mother nature is a bitch and won’t produce any.

So that’s a summary of my feelings at this moment.  Let me back up a bit and give you some perspective…

The final two weeks of training in this three month cycle with Coach Chris ended on a FANTASTIC note!  I capped it off with a 16 miler on the road (dirt and pavement) with Jessica and loved it.  I felt strong and had gas and miles left in the tank.  Coach Chris sent me a happy text about my performance coming into what I will refer to as my “shitty transition week.”  My broken ass was well on it’s way to healing, my knee and ankle were happy and I was eager to take some down time.  Amanda and I headed off to camp for a relaxing weekend (last weekend) and I came into taper week ready to simply move a bit.  My instructions were to come into the start of this week refreshed mentally and rejuvenated physically.

Ugh.

So, I caught a head cold that just lingers and isn’t completely ruining my life.  

My knee flared for no apparent reason (at least one I can’t put my finger on).

My butt hurt for most of the week.

I dry heaved at the gym (thanks head cold.)

I am crabby.  My skin is dry.  I hate winter.  Etc.  Etc. Etc.

I ran twice this weekend and they weren’t horrible… but I struggled with HR due to the head cold and I basically felt like a bag of shit today on my four miler.  Ironically, my brain is in a great place.  The weather was amazing today and I am ready to kick this training plans ASS.  This is it, once we start… no serious braking until VT100.  Holy crap. I can’t wait to get moving again.  I am hoping my body is just overly pissed and inflamed due to the lack of activity, the head cold and lady time.

I’ve pulled out every rehabbing trick I know to get right, but I think I just need to get healthy again because physically I am strong AF.  I cut myself some slack in an effort to de-clutter my life a bit… made a serious decision regarding an intensive training class I was supposed to attend and withdrew.  I was listening to a podcast last week where it was suggested that reducing life stress would make training and racing more enjoyable.  I agree… as I have done it in the past… and needed a reminder to consider doing it again. I want this race and I want to continue experiencing what I can make happen with this body I was given!  Cutting the clutter needed to happen.

This coming week introduces new changes to my training plan, to include two double days and two rest days!  I am looking forward to the challenge.  Long runs get crazy from here on out too.  I NEED to be healthy.  Way too much to do, personally…. professionally and in training.

Thanks for listening to my shit… I don’t get “low” often and I know it’s normal and shall pass.  Poor Coach…. wait until I actually have to taper for this beast….

image1 (19)

An artsy view from the Mt. Major summit – hopefully the last time I will wear the snowshoes this season.

image2 (15)

A new watch for the first time in five years!  Loving the Suunto Ambit3 Run.

image3 (15)

Winter hill climbs that never end…

image1 (20)

More winter runs….

image2 (16)

You can tell it’s spring… gloves, layers and carpis topped off with spikes.  

image3 (16)

There is wine in there.

That’s all for now!  I am thankful as usual for my amazing Ambassadorship with Altra Running  and my brand rep position with Born Primitive.  Their gear keeps me moving and happy!  Use my code LIFTNRUN15 at Born Primitive for 15% off the goods.

Peace out.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. kristaalderdice
    Apr 03, 2017 @ 13:23:44

    I hear ya!!! Winter can be over!!! 60’s next week!!! You got this!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

