Stretched thin…

226416-J-R-R-Tolkien-Quote-I-feel-thin-sort-of-stretched-like-butter

I came to the realization a few weeks ago that I just CAN’T DO IT ALL.  I have been struggling since then to thin out my responsibilities.  I’m failing.  Part of this is out of my control for a few more weeks, as I have been doing the work of two positions since January 1st.  Come early April, I will have a new supervisor to help split the work with me.  That will help.

Next up… realizing that training is a part time job and treating it as such.  I feel bad because I haven’t been able invest energy in my real part time job, but I have to let that guilt go and do the best I can to contribute when it makes sense to do so.  I am truly loving the training process and am still committed 100% to this part time job through July.

Finally, I need to commit to no longer double booking myself or booking my days so tight that I spend my entire work week stressed because I am running ragged AND the weekend worrying about how I am going to get it all done in the next week.  I figure if I start to build in buffer times and scheduling my work, I should be able to ease some stress.

I rolled into last night’s hill run tired, worn out and feeling like the run was a job.  I haven’t felt that way in a very long time and want to make an effort now to minimize that feeling.  Training is fun.  Running IS my stress relief.  I need that time on my legs to stay healthy.  I am sitting here this morning with a cup of coffee, feeling slightly sad and guilty for having to say no to an event I was suppose to attend at 8:00AM.  On the flip side, Husband is sick and I am feeling TIRED after a full night’s sleep so this is me making an effort to take care of myself.   The “normal” me would have bucked up, gotten dressed and went to the event.  Instead, I am shaving my day’s responsibilities in half in an effort to recharge my batteries.  Wish me luck!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. kristaalderdice
    Mar 11, 2017 @ 18:41:54

    Remember to always make running fun and not a job! Train and be happy! You got this, never ever feel guilty about saying No………

    Reply

Leave a Reply

