Happy March!

image4-10

A warm run in Boston in February!

So to get into the nitty gritty… I had a 95 mile month (8100 ft. of gain) in February and last week was my longest training week since last summer.  I am just finishing up a recovery week and chomping at the bit to get going again!

image1-16

This combo is wonderful!  Altra Performance running tights and the NEW Escalante road shoe.  Heaven.

I have a serious case of spring fever… I am craving mountain running!  Tony is finally back to running and we have been chatting nearly non-stop about the trails we can’t wait to tackle and summits we need to tag.  My legs are getting strong and I can’t wait to test them (and my new Altra King MTs).  As of us in the Northeast know, we have been suffering from crazy weather patterns.  One week I am running in Boston in a tank top and capris and this week I was back into ALL of my winter gear just to get my runs done.

image2-13

Coach Chris ramped up my training and I have been doing doubles on Thursdays for a few weeks now.  I venture to say it’s my favorite day of the week.  Well, besides long runs.  I had a realization this past week that the training is working.  I also realized Vermont is 16 or so weeks ago.  HOLY CRAP.  I have started reading all I can about the race and think about it A LOT.  I am so excited!!!

I am beyond happy that Tony is back in action.  While I have done really well hammering out the workouts, I miss the comfortable rhythm and banter we have when we train together.  We can literally run miles together, not saying a word, and being in complete comfortable silence.  That reason alone is why we make excellent pacers for one another.  He also brings out the 13 year old boy in me….

image6-2

So, while I have a lot spinning around in my head and work is busy as usual, I don’t have a lot to put down on paper.  I’ll leave you with some pictures and bullet points:

  • I can’t stop eating… good stuff and cake.  And donuts.  Yay training!!!! (Average 17,500 calorie burn per week at current rate of work)
  • My favorite winter gear has been my Altra Neoshell Lone Peaks (2.0), my Craft Storm Wind running pants, my Nike Windblock pullover hoodie and a fleece lined Buff.  I got more use out of these items than any others.
  • I can’t wait to be wearing tanks and shorts for months!
  • My ankles and knees are in good shape.  Still stretching and rolling as often as I can remember.
  • I thank Ben and his workout regime every time I call on my core, quads and hamstrings.  All that weighted work is paying off.
  • I LOVE the training process and I am thankful for a coach and trainer who push me.
  • I LOVE my running partners!
  • I thank Eric often for putting up with my crazy running schedule.  I often refer to this as a my substitute for a baby.  I *think* he gets it.
image5-5

Life is too short.  Eat cake.

I’m off to the mountains to volunteer at the Special Olympics Winter Games!

See ya next week!  Thanks for checking in!

 

Leave a Reply

