Moose Mountain Runaround – Recap

Happy Monday! I am writing to you from my recliner, recovering from yet another bout of illness.  This is my third go around this month and I have had a little of everything.  Head cold, strep throat and now a quick flu bug.  Is this it?  I certainly hope so!

image1-9

Ready to race!

Rather than dwell on the training I didn’t get done last week, I am choosing to move forward and not give it a second thought.  I ran the Moose Mountain Runaround, a snowshoe race, on Saturday!  If you ever have a chance to push your comfort zone, do it!  That is snowshoe racing for me.  The terrain is always hard and the conditions make you work for it!  This course was 4.4 miles long and consisted of two laps.  My favorite part of the day was seeing Coach Chris in person! His advice was to feel out the course in the first lap (to include my competition) and move in the second lap.  Here is how that went!

image2-8

Acidotic Racing Team Picture (SNAPAcidotic photo cred)

We were sent on our way and I got stuck in the rear of the pack on the singletrack.  This tends to happen to me for a few reasons:

  1. I gas out quick if I don’t have time to settle into a groove
  2. I don’t have the confidence yet to pick a spot up front and hang there

I was able to start passing on the hills where I am strongest and essentially found a spot and stayed there for the rest of the race.  I was alone for most of the course and had some time to pay attention to what was going on.  From the beginning, I felt like I had no gas in my tank and my heart rate hung around 185.  That is way too high for even me and I would have expected to see roughly 170.  Clue #1 that I was getting sick.  My legs felt incredible but I was essentially standing still (in my mind).  Stats for the race were as follows:

11:47/11:06/11:59/11:08/last 0.3 mile 10:09.  Average HR 182

image3-6

Finish line! (SNAPAcidotic photo cred)

I am not at all disappointed in this effort!  I was happy to get out on the course and spend time with friends.

By the time Saturday PM hit I knew something was wrong.  I fell asleep with a sore throat and woke up with it raging accompanied by my low back being stuck in a vice.  I have very little post race soreness and this was way worse… like the flu.  I spent Sunday in bed, getting about 7 more hours of sleep and battling a horrible headache.  I feel pretty good this morning and hope I kicked it.

In closing… this happened last night:

image4-5

So as I said before, I can’t dwell on what I didn’t get done in January.  It doesn’t matter.  All I can do is move forward, stay positive and keep my fingers crossed for good health!

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. zoeforman
    Jan 23, 2017 @ 21:10:38

    Welcome back to fitness & racing

    Reply

Leave a Reply

