Benched!

can'trun

You heard me… Coach Chris benched me this week.  He had excellent cause to do so and I will reiterate THIS IS WHY I HIRED A COACH.  The last two weeks have been professionally stressful, as any major change is even when we don’t realize it at the time.  I have been battling a run of the mill head cold, but that turned into strep.  More than a handful of us have it and are on antibiotics.  And on the coach piece… I make so many decisions on a daily basis that it’s wonderful to have someone else guiding ME for once.  If you are like me and control everything, its nice to give up control on just one MAJOR thing.  Try it sometime.  Tell me I’m wrong.

The rules?  No workouts (i.e. no unnecessary stress on the body) until the antibiotics course is over.  There is tons of information on this approach online and I’m good with his call.  In addition… I would not have made this decision for myself.  72 hours on antibiotics and I would have returned to hard work not knowing any better.  So, between the course of drugs, the risk of secondary infection, a new job position and the fact I am about to travel, I have been benched.  I am not going to lie.  I am a bit relieved.  I get to focus on some major stuff, sleep A LOT and prepare to travel with a little less stress.  Don’t be under any impression I don’t miss working out, because I do, but this is fine by me for this week.

What have I been reading?

Lots!  In between sleeping.  Have you visited Ultra168?  Do it.  SO many good articles.  I especially like their Running Philosophy section.

Food!!!!

Carb it up and make this amazing artichoke and spinach pizza!  A few tweaks on my end included an herb and basil dough from the supermarket and a white sauce (pesto and artichoke based) from the pasta sauce aisle.  Oh, and husband added Kalamata olives to the top.  YUM!!!

image1-8

 

Head over to my Instagram and check out the video Tony took during hill repeats.  I am sure many of you feel my pain!

20170106_164639

Finally, I am really looking forward to the next few months.  Flying this week, heading up north next month and so many other adventures I can’t discuss yet!  Can’t wait to get healthy and stay strong!

image2-7

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. horsegnut
    Jan 12, 2017 @ 13:31:23

    That pizza looks amazing! Rest up and get well, the hills miss you 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

