Down with the sickness…

15826010_10211837934563270_2495568261252981913_n

This pants did not do well snowshoeing!

The worst thing that can happen to a runner next to injury is illness.  Good luck telling us to stop… we will usually run dehydrated, with lung issues and even through stomach issues.  I have heard it all and done most of it myself.  I was doing so well until this last Wednesday when the sick bus hit me, face on.  Sore throat, nasal issues, sinus pain and now drainage… so pleasant.   I lost two training days midweek per Coach Chris.  I had to wait out the sore throat and tiredness.  This week was the last hard week of my mesocycle, so I really wanted to make the most of it.  I did the best I could by treating myself well and being careful during my sessions.

All that being said, I had a badass weekend!  Let me start by saying the Egoscue Method stretches for feet and ankles ARE making a difference in my flexibility.  For the first time in two months, I have more mobility and have been pain free for two days.  I don’t believe in miracles, but I do believe in self care so I am keeping this up!  I am also still riding high on becoming an Altra Ambassador!  Have you checked out their product yet?  I am not saying they are for everybody, but my feet, legs, ankles – everything – have never been this happy.  If you want to learn about the Altra story, I highly recommend this podcast on Trail Runner Nation.  Its with Altra founder Golden Harper.  I listened to it on one of my runs last spring around the time I switched.

photo555681816945731866

So, this week’s training felt GOOD.  My legs are so happy, like they suddenly woke back up. This is my longest mileage month since July and I am eager for more.

What I am reading this week:

Through WordPress and Instagram, I met fellow blogger VT Runner Mom.  Check her out! She’s training for VT100 too!

What I am eating this week:

Lots of chicken and veggies.  And some bacon.  I did make these last night for NYE (I can’t taste anything but hubby said they were amazing):  Maryland Style Crabcakes

I am down two pounds this week which was not intentional.  I know my body well enough to know its too soon to be shedding.  I am at a healthy, strong weight and need to increase calories to keep up with my new work load.

In total, I did one gym workout:

image5-1

I did a total of three runs for 14.2 miles and 1800 ft. of gain.  Most of that gain was breaking trail up the BRT on my way to Quarry and Straightback Mountains.  I did almost three hours in my new Dion snowshoes and I fell in love!  Tony and I laughed a lot on this adventure.  This keeps me moving.

image1-7

image3-4

image4-4

This coming week is an active recovery week and then I am traveling for work.  I am relying on the plan to keep me motivated.  Work is also amping up for me this week, so I am going to have to work hard to keep my head screwed on the right way.  Thankfully, my workouts are my happy place and set the stage for my whole day!

Leave a Reply

