Exploring what works…

image4

Happy place…

This week was an eye opener to say the least.

I was a raging lunatic this week.  I can’t even describe how “all over the place” my brain has been lately.  I have run the gambit from calm to anxious to angry to happy all in a matter of minutes sometimes.

I am blaming the acupuncturist.  He said that would happen!

In all seriousness, the week broke down like this:

2 gym workouts

19 miles (1400+ feet of elevation) over three runs… longest was 10.8 miles.

Here are the key points of the week!

Acupuncture:

First session ever.  To say that my mind is blown is putting it lightly.  Doug was super cool, very passionate about his work and seems to have put a dent in the knee pain I have suffered from for 6 months with no relief.  Last Sunday, I had a searing pain under my knee at mile 7 which has been pretty typical since at least June.  This weekend, I ran 10.8 in Northwood, PAIN FREE.  I followed that up with 5 road miles this afternoon PAIN FREE.  Coincidence?  Time will tell but I doubt it.  Doug worked on my TMJ and tension too.  He warned me I could be emotional this week.  I blew that off… until I was.  Poor Eric.

The weird from my first session:  Phantom bicep pain (lasted 12 hours), left sciatica spasm/right shin spasm, right calf spasm (all came and went during my short run on Friday).

The awesome from my first session:  No more knee pain, no more TMJ pain (had been lingering for months on the right side), neck feels freer and I am sleeping like a champ.

image3

Northwood Meadows for 10.8 and 1K in elevation gain!  Solo and happy.

I am still being very cautious about planning and training, but I feel great.  The gym workouts have made such a difference in my lower body and core strength and I am a complete believer in incorporating HIIT style workouts into run training.   I haven’t committed to a run plan so to speak, but I am following one loosely.  This one builds me up to the 50K at Pineland over 6 months and will have me running multiple 20+ milers before then as a method of building a base.  This would set me up well for the Emerald IF I start healthy.  Another plan I found is more like a traditional marathon plan where you basically run each long distance (20/22/24) once before your big race.  That one doesn’t start til late February.  That one doesn’t excite me as much.

For better or worse, I have been skipping two of the weekday runs and have replaced them with gym work.  Next week, I am planning on working a double day in (most likely Thursday – gym in AM, 4 miles after work).  I am aiming for 75-90% of the mileage in the plan a week.  I have been great at the 10% increase.  So far so good.

image1 (2)

Happy Pavement running to finish the weekend.  Galloway 2min/30 sec is working!

A PF Membership is in my future too.  I want access to a recumbent bike and Arc trainer for the winter when it all goes to shit.  I once trained for a 5K on an Arc and have faith it can help substitute weekly short mileage when the weather is terrible.

I would like to get a peak this coming week.  No big plans for Christmas so that may be the day to find one.  Other than that, I need a 9 and 7 next weekend.  And I am already looking forward to it.  I see both the acupuncturist and my miracle working massage therapist this week.  More to come on acupuncture for the long haul.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Breaking 1000 | Learning to Run

Leave a Reply

