Fitness Reality Check

It’s been three years….

Three years since I decided I had enough of the flabby belly, cellulite on my legs, low energy and lack of drive.  I needed a goal and I got one.  I started to run.  Painfully.  I will never forget my first 5K.  I was exhausted at the end and came home to collapse.  I could not believe how much it took out of me.  I thought I was going to die during the race and after I was trashed.

Over the course of this weekend, I completed three workouts in 24 hours.  The first was a climb up Mt. Major at sunset for “ladies night.”  4.6 miles, 1000+ feet of climb… lots of fun.  We went up in the daylight, caught the sunset and came down with headlamps.  Dinner and bed by 11:30.  Got up the next morning for a one hour workout with my new trainer.  This was mostly upper body with lots of balance work thrown in.  Go home, nap, refuel… then 6.7 miles in Patwuckaway up and over South Mountain.  Legs were dead at first, my downhill running is GONE (no confidence left as a result of the repeated ankle injuries) but I started to come alive after a few miles.  Tony pushed me to run up South Mountain interval style.  I started to get my downhill game back near the end too.  Not too shabby a weekend for injury rehab!  And certainly made me realize how far I have come in three years.

No, I am not training for an ultra.

No, I am not ironman quality.

No I won’t be running a marathon this fall.

BUT I am building, slowly, to move forward with my fitness goals and my personal goals.

Speaking of moving forward, Katie started a challenge for our running “team” called the Fish Fry 50 and 100 Mile Challenge. The challenge runs for the month of August and you get a beer glass at the end.  You can run, walk, crawl or elliptical your way to end and best effort is all that counts.  We have 21 participants!

Finally, I will leave you with some recent pics.  Also, hop over to my 4K Quest page and check out my recaps of Mt. Whiteface and Mt. Passaconoway from last weekend!

ladies

sunmtmajor

calling

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Alissa T..
    Aug 03, 2014 @ 16:59:43

    These blogs are so inspiring! You rock!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

