Here we go!

Pineland 25K (2013)

Pineland 25K (2013)

The time has come!  Tomorrow I officially start down the path to my first ultra (again!).  I was sidelined in 2013 but I am entering 2014 stronger than ever and well rested!  I am pumped to start training and am looking forward to running in the potential mudfest for 32 miles on May 25th.  I even added a countdown to my blog 🙂

The last few months have been spent just running for fun and incorporating cross training…

Jenga... Sharpfit style

Jenga… Sharpfit style

sharpfit

I am officially serious about total body (especially core) strength and have been doing strength and weight work for about 6 weeks now.  I am either attending Sharpfit (cross fit sessions) or Body Pump and/or Body Combat at my gym.  I can already feel myself getting stronger and leaner and want to keep it up!  I am thinner, leaner and stronger than I have been in almost 14 years and I am officially down to my academy entry weight and arguably the strongest I have been in my entire life.  I plan on not letting go of that!

Last weekend, we ran Pawtuckaway and it was AMAZING!

woods trailsnow ice south

Little bit of ice didn’t stop us (as usual!).  I love that we live so close to some fun little summits and can make a day trip of our the Whites.  So lucky to live where we do.

So week one will look a little like this:

Monday: 5AM 45 minute run (Massage Monday afternoon)

Tuesday: Sharpfit

Wednesday: 5AM 55 minute run

Thursday: 4PM 45 minute run

Friday: Rest/Yoga (Jillian Michaels DVD on the way)

Saturday: Mt. Major or Pawtuckaway Run (approximately 5 miles)

Sunday: Sweet Trail (approximately 8 miles)

Look for updates as each week progresses!!!  Thanks for following along on my adventure…

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. vttrailgirl
    Jan 05, 2014 @ 16:42:38

    Love the pics!
    Happy New Year!

    Reply

  2. Mind Margins
    Jan 05, 2014 @ 17:02:13

    Love the photos! I’m going to live vicariously through you and your blog while I shuffle along on the streets for a while and dream of the trails again one day in the future. Love all the snow! Good for you for getting your core nice and strong. It makes a huge difference.

    Reply

  3. runningwithsam
    Jan 05, 2014 @ 19:49:54

    Yey! Can’t wait to hear (read) how the training goes! Happy and healthy new year!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

