How I’m NOT training

princess

As I mentioned in a previous post, I halted all training for both my marathon and 50K this year.  Work was too much, the hours were troublesome and the illnesses I was battling were really starting to get in the way!

Fast forward to now.  I am healthy (fingers crossed it stays that way). my world is looking up work-wise, and I have relaxed into my non-training attitude.  What does not training look like?

1) Strength training 1x a week:  Either Body Pump (lifting class) or crossfit.  I love working my muscle groups to exhaustion and need someone to tell me what to do.  Order me around!

2) Road running: I finally found the best pair of road shoes I have ever set my feet inside!  I picked up a pair of Pearl Izumi Streak II and they are INSANELY amazing.  Light, comfortable, fit like a glove.  9mm drop which is perfect for my legs and not only encourage my mid/forefoot strike but also have me running faster than ever on the road.  Hold on…. fast for me!  10 minute miles fast.

3) Mountain training:  Just started this past week.  Tackled two 4,000 footers for a total of 11 miles of body assault.  AWESOME!  This trek will be getting it’s own post soon!

4) Running when I want:  No spreadsheet, no race schedule, no pressure.  Bearing in mind I am still doing the 19 mile leg of the Vermont 50 at the end of Septemeber, I am not paying attention to structured training.  I run when I want.  When I can.  I plan on getting as many mountains in as I can over the next two months.  When I run, I am in love with it.  I love how my legs work, how my breathing is becoming effortless, how I can just pick a number “hey I’m going out for 7 today” and just go.  And my body is no worse for the wear.

5) Still eating clean… and losing weight.  My abs are starting to chisel.  I am LOVING this smoothie I concocted this week:

Minty Madness:

One scoop Mint Chocolate Chip Ice Cream, one scoop Chocolate and Peanut Butter Protein Powder, one frozen banana, handful crushed ice, chocolate almond milk for liquid.  Blend until smooth and be prepared to crumple from happiness!

This has been my post workout treat.  Occassionally I sub Teddie peanut butter for the ice cream.

6) Workout only when rested.  No more runs on serious lack of sleep.  Not worth it.  No reason to do it at this point.  On the flip side, I worked all night Saturday, slept from 7:30AM Sunday until 2:30PM.  I was out the door for a run at 4:00PM because I couldn’t wait.  Had my first ever half mile at a 7:30 pace.  Felt incredible despite the high 80s and humidity.

At the end of the day, I know I made an excellent decision in postponing two huge goals.  The 50K goal may very well be Pineland next May!  For now, I would love to see how strong these legs can get!  I finally have a strong fitness base and I am so freaking proud that just two years ago this month, I couldn’t run.  Literally, I remember being on a treadmill at Planet Fitness, hobbling along in my awful stability shoes and attempting to simply run for a minute at a time.  I also refused to run outside in the elements.  How things have changed!   Today, I weigh 128 pounds (down 20 pounds from 2011), am stronger than I was when I graduated the police academy in 2000, and belted out 4 miles in the heat for the pure joy of it.  I have finally hit my stride.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Fishstick
    Jul 15, 2013 @ 17:42:59

    You’re a nut. (I mean that in a good way) Good thing you are getting stronger..You may have to drag my sorry ass out of the woods in Vermont.

    Reply

  2. vttrailgirl
    Jul 16, 2013 @ 02:15:17

    Gonna try your Minty Madness, but as the Teddie Madness.
    Can I borrow your abs when your done with them?

    Reply

  3. Mind Margins
    Jul 21, 2013 @ 03:04:43

    I love this post! And I love numbers 4 and 6 the most on your list. There is absolutely nothing wrong with abandoning a goal race if the time is not right. We make things so hard on ourselves sometimes. Just run! That’s it! Run because you love it, not because you “have to!”

    Reply

    • spottedimages
      Jul 22, 2013 @ 05:23:23

      Every time I start out now, I take a few minutes to just breathe and think about why I love running. Makes each run better and better. Can’t wait til you can run again!

      Reply

      • Mind Margins
        Jul 22, 2013 @ 15:22:39

        Me, too. I’m really missing it this week. I have a week and a half without chemo, so I’m hoping to get some energy back to at least do some walk/runs. Otherwise, there’s always yoga.

Leave a Reply

