Re-Evaluation

I have been all over the place lately.  Emotionally, physically, mentally.  An absolute mess.  Sleep has been off, brain won’t shut off.  I have so much good going on right now but with some of the good comes added stress.  For example, my business is running so well it’s kind of hard to believe.  When Amanda and I started our pet sitting business in 2010, it was a part time venture we joked about taking full time someday.  She is now fully supported by our business and is our full time sitter, plus we have three other girls who work for us.  And I fill in sporadically.  For instance, I got to walk Jade, a new client a few nights ago.  She is a doll….

IMG_20130614_063531

While our business is busy and awesome, it does add stress to my life from an administrative and scheduling perspective.  I handle this around the 40 hours or so I put in a week at work.  Then there is work…. I am re-evaluating the direction of my career.  I love my career and many aspects of it, but I have some big decisions to make over the course of this year.  More stress.  Plus I am working a HUGE case right now.  More stress.

And finally, there is my health.  I have a cold.  Not a big deal for most, but since I have had two respiratory issues this year I am not messing around.  I started coughing yesterday when my head cold moved from my face to my throat and saw my new doctor last night.  She is concerned about residual inflammation in my lungs and I am on a regimine of herbs, rest, and codeine at night to get the sleep I desperately need right now.  And…. no racing.  I am on a strict light workout plan until I am recovered.  This means no Fort Rock this weekend (challenging 10 mile trail race).  And I also learned earlier this week I will not be doing Bear Brook due to a professional conflict.  So, no marathon in July.

I am a firm believer in “everything happens for a reason.”   I have always lived my life this way.  So, it is time to re-evaluate my running/racing expectations for 2013.  While my body – my physical muscles – keeps getting stronger, my health is only marginally improving.  I mentioned a few weeks ago that I needed to listen…. I get it now.  My body is SCREAMING at me.

Doctor said I could definitely keep running, just easy… lightly… and she emphasized I need to do it to relax, de-stress and enjoy the experience.  Her words.  She is so right.  I have no doubt I will still make the Vermont relay (19 miles) at the end of September and should be able to handle the fall races I have signed up for.  But this is not the year for my marathon.  It IS my year for tuning in to what works for me.  I want to run/hike some 4,000 footers.  I want to explore new trails.  I want to train my heart rate.  I want to get strong.  And I want to run for many years.  I also want to run to stay calm and live a long, full life.  It is so easy to get focused on racing, especially with my nasty competitive streak (competitive with myself, not others.  Comes from my horse background).  I am still planning on hitting the Harmony Hill Races at Northwood.  I am still planning on light runs during the week, crossfit and yoga.  I just have to take it easy and get healthier.

Time to breathe and let some shit go.  Life is too short.  Everything happens for a reason.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mind Margins/Run Nature
    Jun 14, 2013 @ 11:28:54

    Listen to your body. That’s HUGE. I recently had surgery and was diagnosed with ovarian cancer. Within a two week span, from the time of first onset of pain until one week post-surgery, I’ve seen my entire life change. My only running goal for the rest of the year is to actually be able to run again. If all I can do is walk, I’ll walk. If I can run through six months of chemo, maybe I can still do Marine Corps Marathon. If not, I’ll cheer from the sidelines. Listen to your body. It will tell you what it needs. You are being very smart to put your health first over your races.

    Reply

    • spottedimages
      Jun 15, 2013 @ 11:04:33

      I’m so sorry to hear your news 😦 I wish you healing thoughts as your recovery begins. I really appreciate you sharing with me. Hugs….

      Reply

  2. vttrailgirl
    Jun 14, 2013 @ 18:46:56

    Heather, your attitude rocks! LOVE IT. I’m with ya on wanting to run for many years. Thanks for the reminder to listen to my body.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

