Listening

It has been a week since Pineland.  To sum it up in a word, it’s been a rollercoaster for me.  Longest run ever, longest and toughest race to date, hardest effort and most rewarding run yet.

Mentally I couldn’t believe I did it.  Even after I did it.  It finally sunk in and I walked around with a huge grin on my face for days.  I was also super motivated to run.  Come to find out, that wasn’t going to work for me.

Physically I went through a variety of “issues.”  The first was bloating.  I drank well during the run, continued to hydrate (ok fine I had two beers) after and into the night and my urine output was good.  My weight was a little high the day after the race, but that came down by Tuesday.  I was up about 3 pounds.  My left ankle where the Achilles attaches was sore and required icing for two days.  Finally, my ankles just generally felt sore.  I attempted three runs this week:

Wednesday – Road run (4 miles) in my Kinvara road shoes.  Ankles were super sore, but my legs felt good.

Friday – Special Olympics Torch Run:  This was supposed to be 11 miles, but due to the heat they reduced it to 6 miles.  The group started out way too fast for me (sub 9 min pace) and my ankles felt like someone was stabbing them.  I hopped in the car 2 miles in and didn’t try it again.  Not my day, not worth the injury.

Saturday – Braved the heat to run on my trails at home.  It was about 90 degrees when I went out, but the woods are very well shaded.  It felt about 10 degrees cooler there.  My ankles once again SCREAMED at me.  How frustrating.  It was even in both ankles and the pain went into my feet.  I did three miles and went home to ice.

I realize now that I may have pushed too hard post race.  I also did not warm up and cool down well the day of the race. 

I am not going to run again until my legs feel comfortable.  I am also making a plan to start adding the cross training piece back in.  My gym offers cardio swim classes so I am looking into those.  I also need to get back to Bodyflow and start some light weight work too.  I have failed to keep up with the total body strength approach and intend on starting it again this week.  Hoping to get back in my shoes by the end of the week.  My ankles are still reminding me first thing in the morning they are unhappy… and I am finally listening.

Leaving you all with my favorite race photo!

Photo taken at 11:00

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sharpee
    Jun 03, 2013 @ 10:26:24

    Come over Tuesday!

    Reply

  2. Mind Margins/Run Nature
    Jun 03, 2013 @ 14:04:47

    I think most of us are too hasty to jump back into running, especially after a really good, satisfying race. Rest those ankles!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

