No turning back now!

Pineland 25K… T minus 2 days.

And I am psyched!  Ready?  No.  Psyched?  Hell yes.

The weather is going to suck a bit.  70% chance of rain and cool.  I had a training run yesterday at Northwood.  Part of that run is through a large field.  That field was very wet yesterday.  The Speedcross’ filled with water but I was able to keep on slogging without really noticing.  Four+ hours of that Sunday?  Might suck a lot.  Extra socks are in order.  And blister covers.  It is what it is. Can I run with plastic bags on my feet???

I am very calm about this race.  Probably because I have no goals other than get through it.  And not be hungry.  Aid stations should be well stocked.  I am running with two of my favorite people and we have two more of my favorite people on a our support team.  Husband is not coming (not his scene) but he has also been more supportive than usual.  We had our first wedding anniversary last weekend…

IMG_20130519_220115

This was us before dinner 🙂

He is taking me shoe shopping today.  The drama of finding a hybrid shoe.  What a pain.  That gets it’s own post.  Maybe tomorrow!

Tony has been “reminding” me to do my packing list…. here was a fraction of the mess in my closet before I weeded some of it out:

20130520_165020

I tend to grab the same shorts, capris and shirts over and over.  I finally organized my crap, got rid of stuff I just don’t wear and had a much cleaner closet when I was done!

So, goals for Sunday:

1)  Have fun!  Despite the rain!  As a person who showed horses for years, I am no stranger to competing in the rain.  No big deal.

2) Eat well and often

3)  Laugh

4)  Go out slow, stay slow and COMPLETE without injury

5)  Enjoy the atmosphere

6)  Learn something new

Here goes nothing!!!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. msmidt
    May 24, 2013 @ 14:03:43

    Great attitude toward the race. Have fun!

    Reply

  2. vttrailgirl
    May 24, 2013 @ 20:21:58

    I love your enthusiasum! Thanks for the reminder. I’m psyched its gonna be cool temp-wise for the run. Much more comfy, albeit soggy.
    It’s gonna be a blast, rain or not! I can’t wait. I told Tony if u want to find me, I’m the six foot girl with stripey/ muddy Hokas. I hope I get to meet you!

    Reply

    • spottedimages
      May 24, 2013 @ 23:08:58

      We will be looking for you!!!!!! Hope we find each other. Good luck on your race, cannot wait to hear about it 🙂

      Reply

  3. Leesa D
    May 25, 2013 @ 06:26:49

    Love your goals! I can’t wait to read how it went! 🙂 Good luck!!

    Reply

  4. vttrailgirl
    May 26, 2013 @ 00:39:24

    One more… I told Tony the course is a mud fest. And multiple inches of water everywhere. Soggy doggy. My friend told me its worse for the volunteers than the runners. At least that’s what I keep telling myself. I’m kind of a nervous nelly right now.

    Reply

    • spottedimages
      May 26, 2013 @ 01:11:42

      I hope you get some sleep! I’m a bit of a nervous Nelly myself….. Keep it slow out there! We run in snow…. We can handle this!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

