Chief Maloney Unity Run – recap

As most people who follow my blog know, I have been PLAGUED by illness and injury.  My latest, a rectus sheath hematoma (hole in my ab) happened last Tuesday PM and once again derailed my training for my first 25K at the end of May.  Sweet.  That being said, the surgeon told me that if the pain and swelling subsided I could WALK the race I had scheduled for this past Sunday.  That race, The Chief Maloney Unity Run was in it’s second year.  It was held two weeks after the Chief’s death last year and had over 2000 runners.  It was an amazing experience.  I was looking forward to running the crap out of it, but since the hematoma happened, I would have to be content to walk.  I iced as instructed, took my Tylenol and rested up.  I was determined to be part of this event.

Sunday morning dawned bright and cool but promises of warming up to 70 by the end of the race.  I should stop and say I am part of an unofficial race team.  It’s more like a group of clowns.  We call ourselves Team Fish Fry and including the three founding members (Tony, Scott and me) we had twelve total of us at the race!

group

 We did our usual clowning around before the start of the race and just before the National Anthem and moment of silence, our runners broke off and us runners went to the back of the pack.  Walking was Tony (ankle injury still on the mend), Stephanie (Scott’s wife), Steve (there mostly for antics and moral support) and me.  I was so happy to have a little group to walk with.  This was however my pre-gun face:

sob

Despite the sad face at not being allowed to run, I was thrilled to be there!  Off we went, at an average pace of about 17:30.  Along the way, we took pictures at every mile marker sign.  We joked that we were so close to the ambulance following us we should just hop in and ride in comfort (knew both firefighters on board), Stephanie literally disrobed behind a tree in front of a church because she was hot and put her long sleeve shirt under short sleeve shirt.  Oops!   More antics along the way:

stephtony

mile4

The runners were kind enough to meet us at mile 5 and walk us in.  We also decided we were going to get the best finish line photo ever! Millenium Running agreed and got it!  5.7 walking miles DONE!

raceend

The end of the race brought more antics to include a beer garden.  Overall, an excellent day.

My ab muscle did very well.  No residual soreness.  I did start to get tired after it was all said and done, so I iced and napped after the walk.  I bounced back quickly.  My legs and hip flexors were SORE!  All that walking and heel striking on pavement SUCKS!!!  I missed running so badly, but I am starting back (more on that in next post) and feeling really good!  Ultimately, I am so thankful for my friends who keep this sport fun, support me through my sicknesses and injuries and keep me motivated.  I would not still be doing this without them!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. vttrailgirl
    May 02, 2013 @ 22:06:57

    Nice! I love having friends at races to celebrate with!

    Reply

  2. runningwithsam
    May 02, 2013 @ 23:07:30

    Best finish line photo ever!

    Reply

  3. Ja @Ja on the RUN
    May 08, 2013 @ 02:51:20

    This looks like a fun race! Awesome recap! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

