You can’t make this s&*t up!

Seriously?  That’s all I keep saying.  Going to keep this short and sweet….

Been coughing (had the croup) since Thursday.  Felt really good Monday and Tuesday so got 10 miles.  Yesterday evening was my first day back to work.  Some residual cough, only used inhaler once all day.  Great energy level.  My shift was 2pm-10pm.  Around 9pm, I finished dinner, stood up and coughed.  I got a sudden shooting pain in my right lower abdomen.  It stayed constant.   I attempted to “shake it off” and finish my shift.  At 10pm, I head to the locker room and took my duty belt and pants off.  Oh my……. I almost freaked out.  Huge lump on the lower right side of my abdomen and it appeared to be swelling.  Painful to the touch.  Uh oh.  Hernia?

I got into the car and drove to the ER.  I was lucky enough that Tony and Lise were awake and able to go wake my comatose husband up to come join me.  Dad later came to the party too.

Cat scan and labs…. I have a rectus sheath hematoma.  Google that one.

Rectus_abdominis

Another “rare” condition.  What?????  ER doc was like, “yeah, we don’t usually see these.”  Ice, compression wrap, Tylenol and sent home around 3:30AM.  The synopsis after that visit and the visit with the surgeon today was….

I have a tiny tear in my abdomen muscle causing blood to leak and form a hematoma.  Shouldn’t turn into a hernia, but has to watched.  Prognosis is ice, rest and Tylenol for about a week.  Should be running again next week and training the week after.

Just to recap… here is my year:

– Hamstring Strain (late January-early March)

– Bronchitis (late February-early March)

– Head cold (Early April)

– Croup (last week)

– Rectus Strain Hematoma (now!)

Yeah, I am resting the remainder of this week….  I broke my abs.  Most likely a combination of my heavy duty belt and the coughing.  I’m moving into a bubble.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ja @Ja on the RUN
    Apr 24, 2013 @ 20:58:27

    Hope you feel better soon…

    Reply

  2. vttrailgirl
    Apr 25, 2013 @ 01:23:26

    Feel better quickly. Stay very still til Pineland!. No laughing or coughing.

    Reply

    • spottedimages
      Apr 25, 2013 @ 15:03:38

      I’m trying!!!!! I get a nasty reminder everytime I cough! Swelling is down and it’s getting better 🙂

      Reply

  3. Emily
    Apr 27, 2013 @ 14:12:54

    I’ve been a bit behind on my blog-reading (and blog-writing). My goodness, you really are having a streak of bad luck. Take care of yourself and I hope you heal up soon!

    Reply

  4. runningwithsam
    May 01, 2013 @ 19:50:44

    Wow, you are on a streak! Feel better soon.

    Reply

  5. Donna J. Chick
    May 15, 2013 @ 14:25:17

    Glad I didn’t see this when you wrote it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

