Quiet…

Like other bloggers, I have been quiet this week.  My emotional roller coaster started weeks prior, culminating on April 12, 2013.  This was the one year anniversary of the death of Police Chief Michael Maloney from the Greenland NH Police Department.  I knew Mike from the start of my career.  He worked in the next town over and was the epitome of a working Chief.  He would get his hands dirty.  He would back patrolman up on calls.  He wouldn’t ask anything of his people he wouldn’t do himself.  And he was everyone’s friend.  I was on the night he died.  I was one of the first back up units on scene.  I will never forget the radio call or the feeling of being able to do NOTHING except help on the perimeter.  We cried for a week.  Really cried.  With no shame.  We held together and formed even stronger bonds.  And we moved on.  A year later, during the week of his death, it was impossible not to relive it.  My co-workers and I were somber.  We shared memories among ourselves and with our friends in Greenland.  We attended a moment of silence for the Chief.  And then we partied.  We partied the way he would have.  And it was an amazing end to a tough week for all involved in seacoast law enforcement.

My uniform on the one year anniversary

My uniform on the one year anniversary

Two days later, Tony and ventured to Bear Brook State Park for what was supposed to be a 10 mile exploration run on what will be our marathon course in July.  My legs felt like lead, but I was in good spirits and just waiting for them to wake up.  About 2.5 miles in, with Tony running behind me, were running along one of the smoothest trails we have been on in a while.  Perfect almost.  Tony says something to the effect of “this is the smoothest trail” and then all of a sudden I hear a trip/pop and realize it was Tony.  I THOUGHT he stubbed his toe and started laughing hysterically.  HYSTERICALLY.  Almost peeing myself.  When I turned around however, I realized it was not his toe.  He was white and looked like he was about to throw up.  I asked how his toe was.  He said it wasn’t his toe.  It was his ankle.  UH OH.  After a few moments of trying to walk it off (with me still giggling uncontrollably cause that’s what I do) we found him a puddle to soak it in.  He is going to KILL me for posting this picture:

Uh oh.... trail medical treatment.

Uh oh…. trail medical treatment.

So, we spent the next 2.5 miles alternating walk and run, with Tony trying to shake it off.  That basically amounted to his ankle swelling a lot.  Here is what the 5 mile mark looked like:

I gave up....

I gave up….

We had no choice but to quit.  Tony had his leg in a pond at this point, fretting about leaches.  Really?  Leaches?  This pond was frozen like a week ago.  Boys….  So back to the car we went.

Monday…. Shocking.  Frightening. Devastating.  I was glued to the TV until last night when they finally found the disgusting shithead who ruined people’s lives and killed innocents… including a police officer.  You animal.  You disgusting piece of shit.  And they found him alive.  When the Chief died, his killer took his own life.  Coward.  I am happy to see this monster will pay the price of his actions.

On Wednesday I ran for those that cannot….  And it was lovely.  I went out and did 5 miles after work in the sun.  I focused on the freedom and the sensation of running.  It was the best I could do.

And the end of my week…. a diagnosis of the CROUP!  The little children disease!!!!!!!!!  Extremely rare in adults.  I thought I had a head cold.  Um no.  This was way nastier.  The doctor asked me if I had kids.  Nope.  Then it dawned on me.  I have been teaching in the elementary school.  Damn it.  While I love the kids…. I got their disease.  Fudge.  No running for me until I can actually sleep through a night.  The good news is my lungs are excellent.  I had to miss the Whale’s Tale 5K this morning at the Seacoast Science Center.  Tony had to miss it too.  We will probably be coming back to running at the same time.  I have a delightful inhaler to open my airway and I am on rest until Tuesday.  CRAPPERS!  25K training ain’t working out so well.  And I have 5 weeks to go.  The hell with it… I keep saying I will get through it even if I have to walk.  Screw it!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. msmidt
    Apr 20, 2013 @ 16:21:02

    Well…next week is bound to be better. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Fishstick
    Apr 20, 2013 @ 18:39:09

    Leeches could have been in there!

    Reply

  3. vttrailgirl
    Apr 20, 2013 @ 20:29:50

    Wow. Sending blogging love and support your way. What a week.
    My first selfish thought when you said you had croup was I wouldn’t see you at Pineland!! I’m glad you’re still planning on it! Tuffy!
    AND, most importantly, thanks for your service.

    Reply

    • spottedimages
      Apr 21, 2013 @ 20:54:13

      Thank you 🙂
      And I would have felt a bit selfish too if you couldn’t make Pineland 🙂 Tony is still not running due to the ankle and I am on the mend (going to attempt something tomorrow). As far as we are concerned, we are NOT missing it even if we have to go deathly slow!!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

