Busy week!

So, my crappy week from last week certainly improved.  Work was not as trying, I got a few miles in and I even got my new truck lined up!  Eek!  I am too excited!  More on that later…

So here is a quick recap of the week so far:

Monday:  5 miles (solo).  This was my longest run since the end of January.  I was eager to go and felt good when I started.  A half mile in, I developed not only a side stitch but nasty lady cramps.  Seriously?  Really?  What gives?  I ran and walked for three miles hoping to get rid of both.  The side stitch subsided, the cramps only went away after four ibuprofen after my run.  I had no choice… it was that or the fetal position for the rest of day.  Not cool since I had to work.  The recap on the run was 5.1 miles at an 11:20 pace for a total of 57:54.

I set a goal to run based on time not miles.  My goal pace is 11:30 which allows me the ability to run and walk aggressively and still make my time.  I am focused on getting time on legs versus junk miles.

At the end of this run, I felt pretty good.  Tight calves, but nothing else scary.  I was short on time, so I grabbed this little goody for immediate fuel:

Happy Morning Smoothie

Happy Morning Smoothie

It was tasty even warm (contains 90 calories, 6 grams of protein).  I have tried Happy Tot pouches from this company on short runs and love them.  I really think they will be my go-to instead of gels.  Check them out at Happy Family!

Tuesday:  BodyFlow, chiropractic (with hamstring stim) and 1/2 hour neck, shoulder and back massage.  Also known as relaxation day.

Wednesday:  2.5 miles on the very ICY UNH trails with Creeper (Tony) and Steve.  Steve needs a name.  I just decided that.  Anyway, this run was slow (12:30ish pace) but the trail was a sheet of ice.  My quads, right knee and right ankle were sore after this one.  That is the most work I have done in 2 months.  And it felt good 🙂

The bad part was getting a parking ticket while running.  Tony…. not impressed:

tickets

Thursday:  Off

Friday: Truck shopping!  My lease is up, so my new Nissan Murano SV is being delivered Monday.  For the first time, I got to pick my color and options for a vehicle.  I will post a picture next week!  I actually feel like I am a “grown up” despite having many vehicles before this one.  This truck also marks by third Murano.

What’s up next?

Saturday I have planned a short run (2-3 miles) before work to shake out my legs.  On Sunday AM, Tony and I will tackle Pawtuckaway.  This will be my first aggressive run/hike since injury and I am psyched!  This run will be about 5.5 miles.  Pictures to follow.

Finally, I had a nice little surprise this week… I won a giveaway from one of my favorite blogs, Shut Up + Run.  Beth wrote about a few of her favorite things on a wish list and she gave away the goodies!!!  I’m definitely most excited about the Citrus Zinger water bottle…. even though Tony was so mad I won this, he threatened to pee in it.  Great running buddy I have there.

Stay tuned for musings on sore legs (it’s like starting over) and my new truck!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Leesa D
    Mar 31, 2013 @ 04:20:27

    Nice work persevering through this cramps. Man, do they ever suck!!! I’m sure it only makes is stronger right?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

