Long Week

cake

Ever have one of those weeks where you constantly keep reminding yourself it has only been 5 days not 5 weeks?  Every day this week has felt long, intense and full of issues.  Nothing too major, but enough to keep me working hard to stay focused and productive.  I have a grandmother who was just placed in a nursing home, a mother who is dealing with it head on, a friend who is currently confusing me with her lack of interest in a variety of issues directly affecting me, a husband who is distracted and frustrated by this weather and it’s effects on his next construction project, a case that took over 16 hours of time just this week alone and all of my own day-to-day responsibilities that come with running a household, working 40+ hours a week and caring for horses and a business on the side.  I am exhausted.

So I ate chocolate cheesecake at the end of one of the particularly trying days.  I smeared the top of it with Stonewall Kitchen Bittersweet Chocolate Sauce and washed it down with a glass of Cab.  It was friggin delicious and allowed me to chill for just a few minutes.

On the plus side, I got the following work outs in:

Monday:  4 miles at Odiorne State Park

Wednesday:  3.5 miles at UNH

Thursday:  BodyFlow

Saturday:  3 miles in Barrington

I wanted to do an additional run today, but got held at work until 1:00AM this morning so I opted for sleep and rest.  I have to work again tonight, but will do my 5 miler (aka my one hour run) tomorrow morning!  I am desperately looking forward to it.  I was going to do it at the beach, but have a new client meeting at noon so I have to do get it done closer to home.  Regardless, I am getting out there.  My hamstring is strong, my calves recovering well between runs and my psyche for running on high gear.  Nine weeks until Pineland (25K) and four months until Bear Brook (marathon).  In my mind, it’s all about hours on my legs at this point.  And conditioning on hilly terrain.  Plus stretching.  Bodyflow is definitely my new best friend.

I have said it before, therapy is my running.  I’m going to need a lot of it in the weeks to come.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mind Margins/Run Nature
    Mar 27, 2013 @ 02:26:46

    Hang in there! Just keep moving. Every workout is food!

    Reply

  2. Mind Margins/Run Nature
    Mar 27, 2013 @ 02:27:29

    Oops, I meant “good” but food works, too!

    Reply

  3. zoeforman
    Apr 08, 2013 @ 07:41:37

    Life is testing you but you have plenty of training time before the marathon. One run at a time, you’ll be fine.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

