True Friends….

I am at a point in my life where I am starting to realize my friendships are rapidly evolving.  It may be my age (mid 30s, finding a new way in the world, highly driven) or maybe just the world I live in.

I went to a fundraiser this past Sunday and saw many people I haven’t seen in a long time.  Some were people I was close to 15 years ago when I was just starting to come into my own.  I was surrounded by friends I have had since I started my career.  I was also surrounded by people who have become my friends over the years, including some of my closest friends… the kind you sometimes take for granted.  They all have a spot in my past, some in my present, some in my future.  It was a very interesting blend of the people who have been important to me over time.  We were gathered to celebrate a great man we lost almost a year ago.  It was a celebration of life and friendships.

I am also beginning to realize that sometimes a person puts more stock in a friendship than the other party.  Sort of like being in a relationship where you know you love that guy/girl more than they love you or vise versa.

Friendship is like any other relationship.  It’s hard.  But rewarding.

Would it kill you to ask me why I am upset?

Why are you blowing me off?

Is it all in my head?

Evolution of relationships…. someone was just quoted on Facebook as saying you will know who your true friends are once you stop reaching out.  It’s time to see………. I’m starting to think I care more about you than you care about me….

Bottom line… it’s OK.  I just need to figure out the answer.  And the future.  No anger, just puzzled.

Leave a Reply

