Healthy choices

I would love to share a salmon recipe I tried yesterday for lunch.  It came from the book I got for my birthday, Practical Paleo, by Diane Sanfilippo.  The recipe is called Quick and Easy Salmon Cakes.  They were quick, easy, simple to improvise or change and cooked well.  Here is an artsy picture I took before the first bite:

cakes

Here is the recipe:

salmon

(cut and pasted from another site… didn’t feel like re-typing!)

I skipped the mustard (I LOATHE mustard, but promise to try it at some point to cook), only had regular flour around, and skipped the shallots and onions.  Instead I threw in some chives.  The savory blend is essentially salt, pepper, onion powder, garlic powder and paprika.  I didn’t measure, just threw some in with the salmon and eggs.  I did cook them in coconut oil and it worked exceptionally well.  Despite adding flour, they were still mushy so I just formed a lump about the size of a patty and threw them into the oil.  I made 3 total.  Once they started to cook, they held very well and were easy to flip.  Excellent and I will do them again!  My husband, who loves food and cooks better than me, hates the smell of salmon.  Won’t go near it.  He never even noticed that I made these on the stove top.

Late yesterday afternoon, I went for a run with Tony and Steve.  We did the same UNH lap as last week.  Steve and I did much better this week!  We shaved four minutes off our run.  The conditioning is coming back.  My hamstring is well, albeit feels a little weak sometimes when I run.  Steve and I talked about training during this part of the healing and I may try his“pain cave” crossfit sessions one of these weeks.  He assures me he can make modifications that will help me get stronger too.  I may cry.  Or throw up.  But, I am game.  My only complaint yesterday was super tights calves.  Equal on both sides.  Nothing scary, just my body rebelling to the new work.

I went to Bodyflow this morning.  I had been looking forward to it for a week.  I am absolutely in love with this class.  I have done Yoga.  I have done Pilates.  This is way better.  I sweat, I breathe, I concentrate and then I relax.  My calves are so HAPPY now.  My hamstrings feel nice and loose too.  My balance sucks so I need this badly.  I also get incredibly tight.  I also found I was much more mentally relaxed once I was done.  Prior to class I was a little jacked about a friendship issue.  Doing some self reflection, I realize it is mostly my issue.  Bottom line is the things I am concerned about for my friend but they are not my choices, they are hers.  This class helped me chill and let go a little.  So between the physical benefits and mental release, it’s going to benefit me to fit this in once to twice a week throughout ultra training.  I’m thankful again for Seacoast Sports Clubs excellent offering of classes and instructors.

What’s up next?  Rest tomorrow and runs on Saturday and Sunday.  I am hoping for 3 miles Saturday and 5 on Sunday.  With snow banks everywhere and messy trails, I am going to have to get creative and find some routes.  The long run may take place on the coast… got to research routes.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ja @Athlete Within Ja
    Mar 21, 2013 @ 18:08:10

    Mmmm looks delicious! Thanks for sharing! 🙂

    Reply

  2. sharpee
    Mar 21, 2013 @ 21:40:15

    Hate mustard? Never let anyone know your weakness, I see mustard bombs in your future!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

