Found a trail!

20130318_120743

It was an awesome day for a later winter run… and I managed to find DIRT!  That is a rarity in New England right now.  We are all a bit sick of snow.  I did love running the snowmobile trails, but I am done.  I just want to bound through the dirt trails at this point!  These pictures are from the Odiorne Point State Park in Rye.  Enjoy!

20130318_121044 20130318_121355 20130318_121401

The park was incredibly quiet and I had the trails to myself.  I had a goal of 3.5 miles or so to work the kinks out from the 5K.  I ended up running a little over 4 miles in about 45 minutes with an 11:11 pace.  And that was with walk breaks and photo ops.  I got to run on a little pavement, a lot of dirt, some hard packed beach sand and had great scenery.  I found that peace today I have been missing.  Running really does do wonders for keeping me even.  It helps me work out the troubles of life.  I make my best decisions after I run.  My calves are sore.  I think the start back after 6 weeks, combined with 3 mm drop new sneakers (I have been running in a 4 mm for almost a year) and my speedy 5K are all to contribute.  Rest day with some yoga tomorrow and back on the roads on Wednesday.  I am not paying attention to the “training plan” at this point because I need conditioning time more than anything.  I will get through Pineland (25K) even if it isn’t pretty!

Here was me at the end of my run… goofy I know!

20130318_124610

Digging my new shirt!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. PDX Running Chick
    Mar 19, 2013 @ 04:25:35

    I’m the worst at following training plans. I am more inclined to do what feels right for me. Love trail running. Your photos are great! Enjoy the rest and yoga tomorrow!

    Reply

    • spottedimages
      Mar 19, 2013 @ 12:38:23

      I’m not alone! I figure if I run on feel, I will gradually be running back up to higher mileage anyway. Without as much stress!

      Reply

  2. Ja @Athlete Within Ja
    Mar 19, 2013 @ 17:36:34

    that looks like a nice trail to do your runs! 🙂 that’s awesome that you found it! 🙂
    I love trails more than the road. they are more forgiving on my knees. i live close to a dirt trail, it’s 13 miles long so we go there on weekends most of the time.
    happy running and enjoy your yoga! gotta stretch those muscles. 🙂

    Reply

    • spottedimages
      Mar 20, 2013 @ 03:52:52

      ADORE those trails! Better for the legs and gaining incredible strength and endurance. Thank you for stopping by! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

