Holy Grail 5K Recap

IMG_20130316_115449

The first 5K of the season is down and I suck at pacing!  I was not even sure I was going to make it to this race a week ago given the condition of my lungs.  I was also 6 weeks out from a hamstring strain.  My plan once I realized I could run again was to go, take it slow, and get it done at 10-11:00 minutes miles.  What a crock of shit that is!  Not even close.  My competitive streak gets the worst of me every time.  More on that in second.

I don’t pay a ton of attention to pre-race fueling.  So far (knock on wood) I have had a stomach of steel.  I had this the night before the race:

20130315_191925

That’s a ribeye done on the grill, a race and quinoa blend (seasoned with rosemary and garlic) and asparagus.  Oh, and a Third Shift lager.  Tasty.  No ill effects the next day.  I fueled the morning of the race with two fried eggs, banana and peanut butter and jelly sandwich on wheat.  I am HUNGRY in the morning.  I also had my green juice, coffee and water.  All before 10:00 AM!  No ill effects.  Apparently this is still working for me.

I also broke the cardinal rule of not trying new equipment at a race:

20130316_080322

Normally $18.00 or so, I had a chance to buy these at $7.00 each.  I have never tried them before and they feel weird!  As a wool sock wearer year round, I was actually expecting the midweight to be heavier than they are.  The fabric is super soft and comfortable and they wore great.  No rubs.  My toes were a bit cold to start, I think because they are separated.  Can’t wait to try them in warmer weather!  I paired these with my Inov-8 Trailroc 245s and actually ended up running on the dirt shoulder for most of the race by choice.

They race was excellent.  Here was us ladies at the start:

grail

We were very happy to be out in the 30 degree weather!  So, the race starts with minimal fanfare and I start on my way.  I *thought* I was keeping my pace under control and until Runkeeper told me my first mile was 9:18.  Oops.  Mile two and three were 9:34 and 9:20. I cruised into the finish line, picking people off left and right.  I felt awesome.  My hamstring felt awesome.  Only complaint was a tight left calf.  I kept telling myself to slow down but it just wasn’t working out.  My breathing was excellent and never got labored.  I wasn’t too hot or too cold.  All in all, I was spot on.  I did this race last year at 28:31.  Yesterday I was 28:54 and holding back.  I was too afraid to bust my hamstring again.  I am glad I did, because I had gas at the end and feel really good today.  I can tell I did a speed workout but no pains.  Foam roller and me are friends! It’s so good to be back!!!!!

Next up… St. Mary 5K in Dover on April 13th.  And training of course.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mind Margins/Run Nature
    Mar 17, 2013 @ 20:59:19

    I have worn Injinji’s for years and swear by them. I also always buy a new pair for every marathon or 50K. I like the midweights for trail runs and the thinner socks for roads. Congrats on your race!

    Reply

    • spottedimages
      Mar 18, 2013 @ 12:42:59

      I’m in love already. I am even wearing a pair of lightweights around the house because they are so comfy!

      Reply

  2. vttrailgirl
    Mar 17, 2013 @ 23:37:38

    BTW, I ordered multiple pairs of Injinji from REI’s sale section- $3.95 a pair! If I didn’t clean them out, they’re an awesome deal!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

