Sore like an old lady

It is AMAZING how quickly your body loses condition.  In my first official week back, I am crouched over like an old bitty first thing in the morning!  It also reminds me how much your body utilizes the core muscles.  I think I took that for granted since I spent most of last year keeping my core strong.  My abs, shoulders, low back and chest are all sore.  Not the bad sore…. just the “I finally ran” sore.

I got to run with the boys last night.  This was my first run with anyone since my injury.  It was excellent to have company.  What a crew we were though.  Tony with his silly knee, Steve with no running under his belt this year and me with my leg.  The banter and insults started right away!  I think I miss that the most.  At one point during the run I told Tony we need to practice not talking in order to conserve energy.  We are a bit chatty.  He is like a chick.

Anyway, we took a jaunt around the UNH campus and it was just challenging enough to get my HR up and make me work a little on the hills.  My hamstring is holding up super well!  I get twinges on occasion but nothing serious, certainly no pain or soreness.  I am just reminded there was an injury there.  From what I have read on muscle repair, this is not unusual.  My brain still thinks something isn’t quite right.

Here was our run from last night:

03_15

It was CHILLY!  Compared to our recent weather anyway.  Regardless, it felt great to be back out with friends and enjoying the run.  I actually got a compliment too from Tony who noticed my striding has changed a lot since last fall.  I am feeling like I am landing mostly mid-fore foot and he can see it!  It’s working!!!  It certainly isn’t perfect, but I am getting there.

I will be heading to the Holy Grail 5K tomorrow morning.  My goal?  10-11 minute miles.  I want to run again on Sunday so I need to make an effort to not get wrapped up in the race atmosphere I love so much!  This is my first race since November and I am itching to GO!  I’m sure if I push it, my legs will remind me.

Look for my race update this weekend!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Janine (@PurpleGiraffeJ9)
    Mar 15, 2013 @ 11:42:14

    Ahhh how I miss my UNH campus runs! They were few and far between when I was a student there, but what a great area to run. Have so much fun at Holy Grail, I have a few friends running it – good luck!

    Reply

  2. Mind Margins/Run Nature
    Mar 15, 2013 @ 15:08:48

    Have a great 5K! Glad to hear you had a good first week back!

    Reply

  3. Emily
    Mar 16, 2013 @ 11:47:21

    Glad you are getting back at it, and it is going well! Hope the 5k is a grand time. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

