Making my way back!

Well, two and a half weeks after catching the plague I am almost “me” again.  Finally.  No more insane coughing, no more sinus pressure that keeps me up all night, no more blinding headaches and  body aches.  What a mess.

I spent nearly a week out of work on recovery.  I needed it.  It is also the longest I have ever been out of work in my entire history of working!  It was honestly the best thing I could have done.  I have no doubt I would still be pitifully sick right now.  I have finally been able to take a run and ride my horse.  The ride first…

IMG_20130313_103233

I cut poor Tiki’s nose off because I could NOT get him to stand long enough.  He was as happy to be out as I was. I don’t think I have been on him in 6 months.  I woke up INSPIRED to get in the saddle.  I am lucky enough to have a fantastic horse that does not require constant work to keep him quiet enough for sporadic rides.  Tiki is my doll of a rescue, is somewhere around 15 years old and is a smooth gaited Tennessee Walking Horse.  He does not “trot” like the average horse.  Instead, he glides across the ground.  You can ride him for hours and be happy about it.  He is impeccably trained and kind, yet somehow ended up on his way to slaughter.  So sad… so many unwanted horses.  I got him after giving away the first and only horse in my lifetime (30+ years in the saddle) that shook my confidence to the core and made me NOT want to ride.  He was just a terrible match for me and quite frankly had a few screws loose.  He later died from colic (an often dangerous condition for horses) which I have no doubt was the result of whatever was wrong with him.  I felt guilty about his death for a long time (happened after I gave him away), but also believe everything happens for a reason.  Without making the incredibly difficult decision of sending him on, I would never have found Tiki.  Tiki has helped me trust in my abilities again and has restored my confidence.  For that, I am grateful.  Plus, he loves hugs 🙂

Onto the run…. I took a 3.2 mile test run to see how everything was working.  My pace was 11:00 minute miles and I forced myself to turn around.  It was lovely.  I had no hamstring pain and no lung issues.  I just felt out of shape.  Understandably since I haven’t been able to train since the end of January.  I had a little residual hamstring stiffness 24 hours later.  I went to Bodyflow for the first time at the gym yesterday.  Not bad!  It’s a blend of Pilates, Tai Chi and Yoga.  I am so weak and inflexible right now.  Time to incorporate this weekly!  I feel pretty good today.  I have a short run planned for tomorrow, a massage Friday and I am off to the Holy Grail 5K on Saturday!!!  I am thrilled to be able to run again.  I am definitely listening to my body and taking my time, but I am on the path again!

I plan on posting about my new shoes soon.  I have only put about 5 miles on my Inov-8 TrailRoc 245 sneakers.  So far, so good.  More on that later!  More on some recent recipes too!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. vttrailgirl
    Mar 13, 2013 @ 23:22:29

    Yay run!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

