Life….

Life

I saw this quote some time ago, and often think about it when I am well into abusing my body and pushing it past its limits.  There are many variations, but this one suits me just fine!  This post has been motivated by a post by Happy Fit Mama where she writes a letter to her body.  I am stealing her post and writing my own!

Dear Body,

Did I ever tell you that my Italian heritage is just a bit much sometimes?  Seriously, I shave my legs and you grow the hair back in what seems like minutes.  Don’t even get me started on waxing!  If I had the money, I would laser it all away.  That being said,  I would like to thank you for my hair.  While it is a lot of work, it does look pretty amazing sometimes and it gets noticed.  For that, I am proud!

What about my small chest?  Or my short torso?  Finding uniforms that fit properly is a bit of a pain in the ass.  Thirteen years of custom sized shirts and pants make new uniforms a huge ordeal.  I do like my arms though.  They get “cut up” pretty easily and they are strong.  Stronger than they seem.  My legs too.  My quads get huge but it reminds me of the mountains we can climb.

I have fed you terrible things over the years.  For awhile, I would pour the alcohol in, get three hours of sleep, then clean 25 stalls all while munching on donuts and drinking Pepsi.  And you kept on giving.  I have drank too much red wine, eaten too many cheeseburgers and pour way too much caffeine into you.  I have been better about what I feed you for the last two years, but I know you would appreciate even kinder treatment.  It’s not that I don’t love the healthy food, I just run out of time and go for easy out.

I know I have made you stay up more nights than I can count.  My career is terrible for your heart, brain, hormones and stomach.  You revolt every once in awhile just so I know how much the schedule sucks.  I know you hate being awake from 3:00pm-7:00am.  I promise to find a way to make the schedule better someday.  Until then, I will try to be kind and feed you better.  

We have been involved in some hairy situations together as a result of my career.  We have been exposed to hazardous conditions, substances and people.  I will try to keep you safe.  I want you to carry me over mountains, through 50 mile trail courses and on many more mounted horse adventures.  I appreciate what you have done for me and what I have.  I appreciate that I haven’t broken down and still have the time to make you stronger, feed you better and take care of you.  I want to have the adventures my parents cannot have and share my experiences with the people who do what we can do!  

Love,

Me

That being said, I fully intend on using up my body.  I want to live life to the fullest, experience as much as I can as you just never know when your number is called…. when your time is up.  I have scars.  I have previously broken bones.  There will be more marks.  But there will be stories to tell!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mind Margins/Run Nature
    Mar 08, 2013 @ 20:41:51

    Awesome post! When I run behind my female friends I have conversations with myself about why I have hips and they don’t, or why they have calf muscles and mine are barely there. The flip side of that is when we eat together afterwards they all marvel that I can eat twice as much as them and not show it (except in my hips, I guess). Let’s celebrate these bodies that keep us running, even if they don’t look the way we want them to!

    Reply

    • spottedimages
      Mar 08, 2013 @ 20:49:35

      Absolutely! It’s so easy to be critical and I never gave it a second thought until I realized how much my body can do… and how much potential it has! Keep on running girl 🙂

      Reply

  2. Dawn
    Mar 08, 2013 @ 21:06:48

    Love it!

    Reply

  3. Fishstick
    Mar 12, 2013 @ 10:46:06

    Excellent post!

    Reply

  4. tartar sauce
    Mar 12, 2013 @ 20:07:03

    Love this post. I can’t even bear to think about the evil I do my body. You’re a hero! (For reals!)

    Reply

  5. Donna J. Chick
    May 15, 2013 @ 14:22:03

    You amaze me . . . continue to amaze me, is more like it. I’m re-reading this blog and have this moment to tell you this. Although you didn’t come up with this creativity that “Happy Fit Mama” did, you very well could have. I can hear and see you in every direction these words take. It is definitely a style I find familiar. Continue to create the stories to tell! You inspire!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

