Testing my lungs

In a word, the last week has been HELL.  Started with the sore throat and it all came crashing down from there.  I had the worst cold I have had in YEARS.  It swept through work and now my poor husband has it too 😦  This thing is no joke.  I took me out of work for most of last week and now it has downed by 6’4″ other half.  Then again, we all know how men handle sickness…. and I work with 14 of them!!!

In all seriousness though, what a mess.  The worst of it was being unable to sleep properly for a week.  I finally got 8.5 hours last night and feel amazing.  No more head issues and the only lingering cough I have is occasional and dry.  My last run was exactly a week ago and my last long run (7.5 miles) was about five weeks ago.  I am freaking out a little bit, but my running partner reminded me that we will get enough training in to tackle the 25K we have in May.  That got me thinking about quality of training.  The long races I have planned this year are all trail, some on pretty nasty terrain.  Training obviously has to match that intensity.  While I may not make it to 16 miles, if I can plan intense training over tougher terrain, I should be fine.  Hell, I ran the Vulcan (12 miles in Pawtuckaway State Park up and over a small mountain) after not doing more than 11 miles on pavement.  I have a base, which I keep reminding myself of, and I’m still strong even if I have lost some condition between the injury and illness.

So here are my training goals:

– Walk/run until my lungs are 100% and I can start building mileage (then tackle 25K plan to whatever extent we finish it)

– Mountain runs (NH has many 4,000 footers in addition to great smaller mountains, all within driving distance)

– Barefoot runs

– Track runs

– Trails, trails, trails (Pawtuckaway, Northwood, Mt. Major, Saddleback, Blue Job)

– Cross training (light weights, Arc machine, Spin)

– Beach walks/runs

I also need to remember to look at training as hours not miles on my legs.

I am going to do something before work today to test my lungs out.  Plus, I need some fresh air in a bad way!  Look for a review on my new shoes, the Inov-8 Trailroc 245.  They came in while I was sick and I put them on for about three minutes yesterday.  I bought them from Road Runner Sports who have a 90 day return policy for VIP members.  If I hate them, they go back.  Love it!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. vttrailgirl
    Mar 06, 2013 @ 02:03:44

    I’m liking the part about hours not miles!
    Get better quickly,
    Astrid

    Reply

  2. Mind Margins/Run Nature
    Mar 07, 2013 @ 22:26:55

    I’ve thought seriously about training in hours instead of miles on the trails. Especially on those really long 26 milers in the summer, when it’s close to 100 degrees, I’m thinking setting a time limit would work a lot better. Surely after a certain amount of time you lose most of the benefits anyway, especially in tough conditions.

    Reply

    • spottedimages
      Mar 07, 2013 @ 23:06:58

      Completely agree. I figure if i work based on my race goals it takes a little pressure off and gets my body used to the time on my legs.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

