25K Training Recap – Week 1

This was technically week one of the 25K plan I had laid out in preparation for the Pineland Running Festival 25K in May.  It was supposed to go a little something like this:

Monday:  2.5 miles Got a message and stim treatment for my leg

Tuesday:  2.5 miles I did 3.2 in the woods on the snowmobile trails – yeah!

Wednesday: Off

Thursday:  2.5 miles I was deep into my head and chest cold.  Went to work, had a hard shift (think running through the woods for a quarter mile in snow up to your knees, 20 lbs. of gear and unable to breathe).

Friday: Off  Home sick from work with a full blown chest cold

Saturday: 3.1 miles  Better today, still have a nasty raspy cough, skipping the run

Sunday: 4.35 miles I may attempt to walk 2-3 miles depending on how the rest of today and tonight goes

I have always followed the rule of thumb that if the sickness if above your chin, continue working out within reason.  Anything below your chin requires rest.  I haven’t had a respiratory involved cold in years so I guess this is just my luck.  So, I am subscribing to rest, hydration, humidifier and nutrition for the next few days to hopefully bounce back.  This guy is my friend:

mucinex11

My pondering for the day:

1) Should I start over again with Week 1 once I feel better?  Pineland is Memorial Day weekend and I was running 7.5 mile long runs a month ago (prior to hamstring strain) with energy to spare.

2) When do you return to running with a chest cold?

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. adanelz6
    Mar 02, 2013 @ 14:37:12

    Hope you feel better! It’s so hard to get out there when you’re feeling under the weather and I do believe in the “above chin” rule, but sometimes getting a good sweat really helps. I would stick with just light exercise if you’re feeling up to it with PLENTY of hydration. I am doing my first half marathon this summer and I just started my blog to get find a new for of inspiration! Check it out here: http://milesforthought.wordpress.com/

    Reply

  2. spottedimages
    Mar 02, 2013 @ 16:40:04

    I can’t wait to sweat again!!!!

    Reply

  3. Mind Margins/Run Nature
    Mar 02, 2013 @ 18:59:29

    My friend always tells me when I try to “make up” runs that I’ve missed: just keep going and never look back. I wouldn’t start over with Week 1, just move on to Week 2 on your plan. I had my first cold in years this past Christmas. I took an entire eleven days off. I’m pretty conservative about not running when I’m sick or sore from a race.

    Reply

    • spottedimages
      Mar 02, 2013 @ 20:25:19

      I love that advice! Mostly because it will help me just stay on track and not get stressed about what I missed out on. The good news is my cough is very, uh, “productive” and moving crap around!

      Reply

  4. Astrid Hoyt
    Mar 02, 2013 @ 22:25:13

    Hubby and I are signing up for the Sunday run on May 26th @ Pineland! Awesome! So glad I might get to see you there! Send healing your way.

    Reply

  5. nicklemary
    Mar 05, 2013 @ 13:45:49

    I hope the sickness has left the building. It seems to want to linger much longer than usual this year. Running today?

    Reply

    • spottedimages
      Mar 05, 2013 @ 13:55:11

      I may go for a walk before work just to see how my lungs hold up! I want to do something before the snow hits again!
      Let’s chat this weekend about running!!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

