What a cruel joke!

Cleared to run… really run…. as in “hit the trails” run and I am as sick as a dog.  Also happens to be the first week of 25K training.  Funny huh?  I am in no mood to really structure this thing, but want to stay up to date so here goes nothing!

Running:

Two runs since my first test run.  Yesterday’s run was delightful.  3.2 miles on the snowmobile trails on the hardpacked snow.  Felt awesome, lungs were ANGRY!  Many walk breaks.  Finished in just over 40 minutes with no hamstring pain whatsoever!

25K training starts this week with a few short runs during the week (2.5 miles) and two back-to-back runs this weekend (3.1 miles Saturday and 4.3 miles Sunday).  I plan on getting in one more run tomorrow and doing both weekend runs.  If I am still bogged down with this cold I will skip tomorrow in lieu of the weekend runs.  This training program comes at a good time since I need to get back into the routine.  It is also in preparation for the Pineland 25K on Memorial Day Weekend.  Here we go!

My first scheduled race is March 16 for the Holy Grail 5K.  Looking forward to it!

Sickness:

Just an annoying head cold.  Ick.  Started as a tickle in my throat, now it’s RAGING.  Please be gone.  Now.

Work:

Working 2pm-10pm now.  Way better.  Way more sleep.

Food:

Not bad.  Been packing my days full of veggies, bananas, water and lean protein.  Been really good about reducing the red meat (until tonight when I eat chili from the crockpot).

 

Ok, I need a nap now.  Peace out.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mind Margins/Run Nature
    Feb 27, 2013 @ 18:38:23

    Oh no! Head colds are the worst. Hang in there!

    Reply

  2. Astrid Hoyt
    Feb 27, 2013 @ 21:15:48

    Feel better soon!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

