Snow is cramping my style!

The northeast is due for another HUGE storm!  We are getting punished for lack of snow last year.  I am not the only one planning on training for distance runs this winter… still doesn’t mean I can’t complain a little.  To add further insult, I am allowed to run but NOT in the woods which is where I have been training.  The snowmobile trails look so inviting too!

Ran yesterday and got a relatively flat 3.5 miles in.  I bundled up (two pairs of pants, two shirts, vest, wind running jacket, wool socks, Speedcross 3, hat, gloves) and headed out in the 25 degree sun.  The wind was pretty strong but I didn’t care.  All I really cared about was keeping my legs warm.  The first mile or so was completely pain free.  I had no sensation in my leg at all.  As the run progressed, the weak knee feeling crept up.  Still no twinges at the strain site and no discomfort down the side of my leg to my knee.  It just felt unsupported slightly.  This was the feeling I got initially when this injury started.  I consider this an improvement over my Tuesday run since there was no twinges at all!  I worked an 11 hour shift following this run and woke up feeling good this morning.  What I realized from the run was:

1) You lose wind fast.  Three weeks without getting my heart rate up definitely took it’s toll. Going to take some time to build back the endurance I lost.

2) Coming back is a slow process.

3) I definitely missed running 🙂

On a side (but related note) I switched shifts again.  Every six weeks baby!  I now sleep at night, but work from either 2pm-10pm or 2pm-midnight.  Here is a shot I got last night… I missed the daylight:

odiorne

 

Recipe update!  I tried a new one from “Practical Paleo” book on Tuesday night.  The recipe is as follows:

– Skinless chicken thighs (recipe calls for bone-in, I used boneless without issue)

– Bacon

– Smokey spices (I used McKormick smokey maple BBQ something or other… yum!)

Wrap each piece of chicken with a strip of bacon, arrange in a baking dish and cook for 40 minutes at 375 degrees.  We finished them on broil for 5 minutes.  Excellent.  And they have bacon.  We love bacon!  I had a side of brussel sprouts again.  I can’t get enough of them.

chicken

Stay tuned for 25K running program updates that start next week!  

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Astrid Hoyt
    Feb 22, 2013 @ 22:30:04

    Nice sunset pic!

    Reply

  2. nicklemary
    Feb 24, 2013 @ 17:26:59

    Those look really good. I’m going to have to borrow your Paleo book and make some copies.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

