First run done!

Today was my first comfortable run in three weeks and my first since my imposed two week break.  In a word – YAY!!!!!  Here is the recap:

today

This includes a walk warm up for the first quarter mile.  I decided to run with tunes today because I figured if it sucked at least I had something to listen to instead of my angry thoughts.  Come to find out, it was fine!  I felt a twinge about three times over the course of the run.  It was up high where the strain occurred and definitely cannot be defined as pain.  More like tightness that faded almost as soon as I felt it.  I kept my pace slow and truth be told, my lungs would have revolted anyway.  Legs were great, hamstring was good, lower back was tight.  Overall, I give it a 90% recovery of my hamstring.  Doctor was happy with my progress, administered another stim treatment and told me rest tomorrow, run Thursday!  I have resumed preventative heat therapy after each run.

On a food note, we tried a chicken crockpot recipe last night.  Here is the beer we used:

stout

It is Heart of Darkness by Magic Hat and it is a delightful stout.  I threw chicken breast and the stout along with some seasoning into the crockpot.  Once done, Eric made a rue and used the stout “juices” to make a gravy.  Holy moly.  Served the gravy over the chicken and rice.  Yup, nice little experiment.  I added brussel sprouts to my plate (Eric refused them!).  Fantastic meal.  Tonight I am trying a peleo chicken recipe.  More on that later!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. msmidt
    Feb 20, 2013 @ 00:22:32

    Glad you are back on the road.

    Reply

  2. Amy Chiaramitaro
    Feb 20, 2013 @ 01:37:34

    Yay! So proud of you and that you are “up and running’, as they say! Your food inspires me too 🙂

    Reply

    • spottedimages
      Feb 20, 2013 @ 11:00:54

      I am only just now discovering this cooking “thing!” It helps that Eric is more experienced in the kitchen so if I craft the idea he can usually give me guidance to make it happen!

      Reply

  3. Mind Margins/Run Nature
    Feb 20, 2013 @ 02:10:54

    Yay, great news! Take it easy and don’t rush things.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

