Counting down….

Not much new to report here…. Two more days until I can run.  I was cleared to try tomorrow, but seeing as we are about to have another storm and tomorrow is supposed to be cold and windy, the doc suggested I wait it out until Tuesday.

Prescription:  2-3 slow, flat miles

I realized tonight the biggest thing I have missed about my runs has been taking pictures.  My feet take me to some pretty cool places around the seacoast and I am looking forward to exploring a lot more!  This is still one of my favorite pictures:

North Hampton

So I am pleased to report the following about my “rehab” period (about three weeks):

– I haven’t gained any weight.  Holding steady at 132.

– I have learned a lot about hamstrings and the muscle healing process.

– I love electric stimulation even more than before!

– Heat does work!

– I have some new recipe ideas (I will post as I try them)

– I have committed to adding a weekly yoga class to my routine

The not so good about this rehab:

– My skin has FREAKED OUT!  I have been acne prone for the last year or so (about when I started the running) but it was under control and looked great.  No sweat = clogged pores and acne.  What the hell!

– I’m BORED and losing motivation daily

– I miss my running partners!

– I miss the gym (Body Pump, Arc, Combat)

– My running clothes are too clean and taunting me daily… as are my shoes

– I need my laughter fix I get from running with my people

Soon!!!!!!  Tuesday is the day!  My leg feels amazing…. I am ready!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. vttrailgirl
    Feb 17, 2013 @ 12:55:24

    Beautiful pic! Funny. I just put it together about my skin and running..go figure. I guess it’s a small price to pay. I’ll take the bad skin.

    Reply

    • spottedimages
      Feb 17, 2013 @ 21:17:35

      What a pain though! I agree…. I can use concealer when needed to cover it up given how happy it makes me!

      Reply

  2. Mind Margins/Run Nature
    Feb 17, 2013 @ 13:52:48

    Yay! Great news! (Except for rhe break outs).

    Reply

  3. nicklemary
    Feb 17, 2013 @ 15:34:05

    Tuesday is really close! You’re almost there. I’m very impressed that you have remained the same weight, did you cut back on calories?

    Reply

    • spottedimages
      Feb 17, 2013 @ 21:16:59

      Definitely did most because i wasn’t in hunger overdrive due to workouts. I think the green juice has helped some too 🙂

      Reply

  4. Emily
    Feb 18, 2013 @ 00:37:22

    So exciting that you’ll get back to running soon – a little time off is relaxing, but generally just if it’s voluntary.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

