Hope!

Here’s hoping I might get to run next week!  I am on day 8 of my doctor imposed rest cycle of two weeks.  After another stim treatment yesterday and a discussion of my current discomforts and what not, he said the words “I might have you running next week!”

WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!  Yup, that’s what I said in my head.  That was followed by IF your hamstring continues to be pain/spasm/twitch/anger free (it’s been 4 days).  And I was warned I would be starting with 3 miles.  Sweet.  I’m in.  I would be happy if he said 1 mile.  So, I continue with my heating pad and paying attention (which I am finding I am NOT paying attention as much… lack of reminders from my leg).

Did you check out my Product Reviews page?  I wrote a little piece on my new found green juice.

Other than that…. I have been noticing nothing but crickets coming from my running partner’s page…. I’m going to heckle him a bit because while I know he is on a break (he is old and it is cold and too snowy for him), he did say this blog was a place for food logging and such.  Hmmmm…. silence.  This is for him….

runweather

Finally, I will leave off with some musing about shoes.  I am currently running in Saucony Kinvara TR trail shoes as my primary kicks.  I like them, but I am not in love.  Frankly, I am a little mad at them right now because for the last month I was developing an annoying hot spot on my left foot.  They are a 4mm drop, but almost every tester says they run like a 0 mm drop.  No big deal in my book, but I wonder if they are ideal for going the distance.  My longest run was 12 trail miles in them.  I have been using them on the pavement and even have a 5K PR in them.  All that being said, I have started the research for new shoes and know I am most likely going to stay with Saucony but I am conflicted.  More on my internal DON’T BUY NEW SHOES YET conflict later…

What do you wear for trails?  I need ideas!

 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. vttrailgirl
    Feb 12, 2013 @ 12:50:31

    Yay! Here’s hoping…
    I run (all types) in Hoka One One Stinson Evo. I love love love them. My hubby runs in Newton (I forgot which model) but they are rated for road AND trail. We like to bicker about who has the cooler shoe.

    Reply

    • spottedimages
      Feb 12, 2013 @ 19:19:01

      The Hokas look so interesting! Do they run true to size? I have to order 1/2 size up with Saucony Kinvaras from any other shoe.

      Reply

      • vttrailgirl
        Feb 12, 2013 @ 22:57:35

        Yup, true to size. I would try them on, first, if you can. They’re on the narrow side, which has been an adjustment. I’m hoping they make a wider model for my size 11 women’s footy. I’m def. getting a another pair when I can afford one!

  2. Mind Margins/Run Nature
    Feb 12, 2013 @ 16:56:53

    I wear Brooks Pure Grit, which are also a minimal trail shoe. I love them. I wear Nike Frees on the road. When I manage to get over the sticker shock ($170) I would like to try the Hoka Stinso Evos.

    Reply

  3. msmidt
    Feb 12, 2013 @ 22:44:31

    I bought my Hokas about a half size smaller than I wear in Asics. I wear a 13 in Asics; 12.5 in Hoka. Best of luck in your return to running.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

