Bumming….

Well, I woke up this morning with the worst amount of pain I have had in almost two weeks.

I can actually pinpoint where the pain is for the first time too.  Oddly enough, it is on the side of my leg about 5 inches above my knee.

I am really started to get mad.  I can’t run.  This is the first time I haven’t been able to run in almost 18 months.  What a bummer.  Much more of this and I am going to have to start doing something else until I heal.

I ran again yesterday (walk/jog).  I did 2.6 miles and they felt pretty good.  Lots of stretching and rolling, lots of walk warm up.  No pain with an exaggerated forefoot strike.  No sharp pain like I had the day before.  No residual issues like I had on Saturday.  I actually ended yesterday thinking I was heading towards being in the clear.

This whole ordeal got me thinking about ibuprofen and pain meds…

I’m just as guilty as the next runner of popping some ibuprofen before a long run, despite the studies saying not to do it.  I was also once on a streak of eating ibuprofen daily in the morning like it’s candy.  Not only did I suffer from training pain (calves mostly) but I have bone spurs in my neck.  I was diagnosed with them several years ago and for a long time I battled arm numbness, neck pain and headaches.  Running went a long way to making me stronger and reducing these issues.  As does massage and occasional chiropractic adjustments.  What helped the most in recent months was Hammer Tissue Rejuvenator.

This all being said, I have not been taking ibuprofen much this week.  I want to be able to “listen” to my body.  The ibuprofen does work for me and does mask pain and discomfort.  I will overdo it if I cannot feel the pain.

Well, I have a new client meeting this morning and then I’m off to get the leg e-stimmed.  No workouts for the next several days due to going back to work tonight.

What are your thoughts:

Have you weight trained when you couldn’t run?

How about alternate machines such as the elliptical or Arc?

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sharpee
    Feb 04, 2013 @ 13:59:15

    Yes weight train, and I am pretty anti-anti-inflammatory. If they called them “stop the healing process pills” you probably wouldn’t take them.

    Reply

  2. sharpee
    Feb 04, 2013 @ 14:04:17

    Burpees are the cure-all for anything that is bothering you!!

    Reply

  3. Mind Margins/Run Nature
    Feb 04, 2013 @ 18:00:53

    REST! Rest, rest, rest! Take a few days off from anything physical and see if the pain goes away. We all hate taking days off, but it could be all you need. Rest that leg, don’t make it worse!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

