Hot college boys!

Have I gotten your attention… well the ladies attention anyway?

More on that in a minute 🙂

This week was light on workouts.  I had my 7.5 mile run on Monday, Arc and Body Pump on Wednesday then had my usual two days off in the middle of my work rotation.  By the time Saturday hit, I was eager to run.  Since Wednesday I have had an odd pulling sensation from my right IT, through my knee and down to my foot.  No amount of rolling or stretching has eliminated it.  I started my run very slowly on Saturday in hopes of warming it up and loosening it.  Here is my stats for the run (from Strava):

run01_26

Here are my splits:

run01_26(2)

The route I chose is from my house, all road miles (one small section of dirt road) and relatively hilly.  I have a 4 mile or a 5.4 mile option.  I had decided before I started I would turn for home at the split and just do 4 miles if the knee/leg was not any better.  By the time I hit the deciding point, everything was loose and working.  The splits above include walk breaks.  I am getting pretty good at keep my power up during my walk and running faster in between breaks.

Want to know about the hot college boys????  This long loop takes me close to UNH and every time I have run it, I see UNH apparel clad hot men running on this route.  So, I get dirt roads, farmland, woods, and hot men to look at when I run.  Works for me!

Today, my knee is still “pulling” on the outside.  I can’t describe it any other way.  Doesn’t hurt at all.  I am having trouble pinpointing if it is being pulled by a tight hamstring or IT.  This is new for me.  I am planning on running in the woods today (4 miles) and then doing my long run tomorrow (8 miles).  Hoping one more run will get the rest of the kinks out, otherwise I may have to consider another unscheduled rest day.  I will keep ya posted….

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. msmidt
    Jan 27, 2013 @ 19:06:10

    Interesting statistic on the “GAP.” Where is that figure coming from?

    Reply

    • spottedimages
      Jan 27, 2013 @ 20:32:51

      Just looked it up (ironically I never gave it any thought!):

      Grade Adjusted Pace (GAP)
      Grade Adjusted Pace estimates an equivalent pace when running on flat land. Because running up hill requires extra effort, the Grade Adjusted Pace shown will be faster than the actual pace you ran. When running down hill, the Grade Adjusted Pace will be slower than the actual pace. The steeper the grade, the larger the adjustment.

      Now you can see the effort and compare hilly and flat runs more easily.

      The benefit gained from running down a hill is only about half as much as the extra effort spent running up the same hill.

      The calculation of Grade Adjusted Pace was inspired by work done by C.T.M. Davies studying environmental effects on running.

      Reply

      • msmidt
        Jan 29, 2013 @ 15:02:16

        What program are you using that automatically includes this? (I’m a numbers nerd; may have to include this in my log.)

      • spottedimages
        Jan 29, 2013 @ 15:23:49

        I am using Strava. It’s a phone app for running or cycling. Really liking it, seems to fill in the gaps where Runkeeper doesn’t. I am a numbers nerd too, so I use them both.

  2. Mind Margins/Run Nature
    Jan 27, 2013 @ 20:30:32

    Hope you figure out what’s going on with your knee.

    Reply

  3. msmidt
    Jan 28, 2013 @ 04:30:00

    I figured it had to do with the change of grade, but I’ve never seen a program that calculates that for you. Very interesting.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

