Thank you Ultimate Direction!

The Fed Ex truck brought me something I have been waiting for today!  My replacement bladder for my Ultimate Direction Wink Pack is here!!!  I initially wrote a review of this pack in December and reported a tiny drippy leak from one side of the bladder.  I contact UD and inquired about the leak.  The person who got back to me (Tim – you rock) had me send a picture.  He then asked me to cut it up with scissors and send that picture.  I almost cried!  Well, now my new bladder is here courtesy of UD.  I don’t mind the Amphipod handheld I have been using but can’t wait to have my hands free again!

Today is a rest day.  My calves are a little tight so I will roll them out.  My right shoulder has been bugging me too.  Hoping to get that stretched out before I lift tomorrow.  I will officially be hiding inside for the next few days…

Brrrrr!

Brrrrr!

This is too cold for even me to think about running outside until Friday.  I hope to get on the Arc machine (instead of the treadmill) before Body Pump tomorrow.  I did a lot of training on the Arc to prepare for my first 5k (October 2011) when I had shin splints.   I have convinced myself this is a nice replacement for the DREADMILL I will never get on again.  I haven’t decided what I will do on Thursday yet.  What a bummer!

I thought I should add I have been better about my meal choices lately.  I don’t eat horribly bad, but I love salt and sweet stuff so I have been consciously aware of my need for watching those two things.  Especially in light of the fact I tend to swell a little on long runs.
Dinner last night:

– Rotisserie turkey breast (thank you Hannaford)

– Brussel sprouts (steamed)

– One serving stuffing

Today so far:

Breakfast – two eggs scrambled and a banana

Snack – all natural granola bar (low sodium)

Lunch – homemade garden salad with leftover flank steak and a dash of creamy greek dressing.

I’m off to bundle up and head to the accountant!  Being a business owner is wonderful until this time of year 🙂

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mind Margins/Run Nature
    Jan 22, 2013 @ 20:24:00

    Glad you were able to get a replacement bladder. Obviously a defect in the product. Like you, I’d much rather wear a water pack than hold a bottle in my hand, especially for those really long trail runs. And like you, I HATE running on a treadmill. Even with your cold temps, I’d rather bundle up that deal with that monotony!!!

    Reply

    • spottedimages
      Jan 22, 2013 @ 20:40:38

      I hear you! I started a run a few weeks ago (my one and only treadmill run this season) and almost went outside in the 15 degree temps in my t-shirt and 3/4 length pants to finish the run. Running isn’t miserable… yet somehow that machine kills it for me!

      Reply

  2. msmidt
    Jan 23, 2013 @ 14:39:56

    Isn’t weird the way your shoulders and neck can get sore after a run or series of runs? I have to keep telling myself, relax your shoulders, drop your arms, relax…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

