The cost of winter running

gear

I know I have mentioned it before, but I am a newbie to this winter sports thingy.  As a former active equestrian, we rode in the snow or we rode inside a covered arena.  That was the extent of my outdoor activity for most of my life (sans a few years in my early 20s – origin of the snow shoes).  Most people have moved indoors to run by now seeing as we have a fair amount of snow on the ground and snow banks covering the safe shoulder of the road.  Plus, many people don’t like to run in the cold.  I’m not judging, but can say this from experience.  Most of my friends DO NOT run the way I have decided to run this year.  It’s northern New England and it can be rough here.  If you are prepared to dress for it, you will reap the rewards!

So what does “snow running cost?”  Here is my primary gear:

– Salomon Speedcross 3 mountain running sneakers (you can see them here).  They really are amazing.  I fell in two “streams” today (busted through the snow before I could stop) and got both feet soaked.  Within a minute or two, I couldn’t tell.  Once my feet were warm, they stay warm even soaked.  I have been using these for running, hiking and snowshoeing.  Best investment ever!  Paid $112.00

YakTrax Run:  These are insane and worth every penny!  I almost didn’t invest in a pair, but run almost every day in them.  They have metal spikes on the front and coils on the back.  Very light and they fit the Speedcross great.  Order up a full size if you put them on an aggressively treaded shoe!  Retail $40.00

– Gaiters: Yup, wore ’em backwards for a few weeks.  I’m an idiot!  A must have for keeping the snow out of your shoes and you calves warm!   Paid $55.00

Bottom line is winter running costs me more than the average runner spends on a pair of road shoes.  That being said, I woke up this morning and needed to RUN.  I love the snow.  I love that there are literally no limits.  I love how toned my legs are getting from this ridiculous sport!  Speaking of my run… 5 miles of amazing.  Actually, when my run partner (check out the freak show here) sent me a text to see how it went, my response was “Fucking awesome!!!!!”  Well, it was!  I am so glad I chomped down a banana and some coffee and went out.  The more I run, the more excited I am getting!  I just broke 13 miles for the week and have a few days left to go.  My legs are great and so is my head.  Winter is being good to me.  Besides, the scenery kicks ass!

path

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Tick Tock « Running to 100
  2. Fishstick
    Jan 18, 2013 @ 19:13:41

    Still cheaper than horses. 😛

    Reply

    • Socktape
      Jan 19, 2013 @ 15:22:52

      Fish beat me to it! Well, you can also attribute wearing the gaiters backwards because as a horse person you’re used to wearing half-chaps a certain way 😉

      Reply

      • spottedimages
        Jan 19, 2013 @ 17:50:34

        That has got to be what it is!!!! Half chaps never secure down the front! I never even considered that was why I was putting them on wrong 🙂

Leave a Reply

