A breath of fresh air!

summit

Mt. Major

This delightful view was the summit of Mt. Major yesterday.  Tony and I had scheduled this trip for December, but we got rained/snowed out.  On a whim he picked this date and it worked out PERFECTLY!  Plus we had Bill and Meggan for company.  That is always a good time!  The temps were in the low 30s but there was a brisk wind.  The sun was amazing which helped a lot.  Here is what I wore:

1) Underwear (stating the obvious there!)

2) Under armour mock turtleneck

3) Hind lined running pants

4) Under armour tech winter socks

5) Fila running shirt (hooded, long sleeve, heavy weight)

6) Snow pants (lined)

7) Columbia wind jacket

8) Winter hat

9) Gloves (swapped between my thin running gloves and winter windblock ski gloves by Spider)

10) Speedcross 3

11) Yak Trax Run

12) Gaiters

13) Ultimate Direction Vest

before

I definitely worked up a sweat, but stayed warm at the summit which was super important!  And I could actually move enough to run.  We did some running on the way up before we started to climb.  We mostly ran the descent which was awesome!  And my hip flexors were amazing!  We had a snack at the summit too, which kept my energy up.  I had two eggs and a mango Chobani before we left. I had a half a peanut butter and jelly sandwich just before we started our hike.  I felt great at the summit and had a packet of Happy Tot baby food (actually very good!).  Overall, no hunger pangs until the usual post run time frame.  And I desperately wanted more coffee 🙂  Overall, I felt like I kicked Mt. Major’s butt!

Today we did 3 miles on snowshoes at Kingman.  AWESOME group today and it was Scott’s first time out.  He and I even managed to do some running!  I am absolutely in love with winter this year.  I haven’t felt this way since I was a kid and we used to ride our horses barefoot in the snow.  I was never involved in skiing or any other organized sport so this is so new and exciting for me!

My legs feel tired but great tonight.  I am still on the fence about BodyPump tomorrow or rest/short run on Tuesday or vice versa.  I have a massage scheduled on Wednesday.  I am so in need of that!!!

On a side note, I had a fabulous run on Friday outside.  I did 3.5 miles at a 9:36 pace.  That is very good for me!  Erased that horrid treadmill workout from my memory.  I also signed up for the Vulcan again (woo!) and the Bear Brook Marathon (way more on that later!).  Finally, we booked out rooms for the Vermont 50k.  Here we go!!!!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. msmidt
    Jan 15, 2013 @ 02:39:54

    What kind of gaiters do you use? I think it’s hard to find good ones anymore. I would like some for summer trail running.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

