Progress?

Last night was night four (second week) of our Runner’s Alley 10K training group.  We took a new route (Middle to South to Pleasant and back via Court) due to the wind and cold.   I started the run with a slight cramp and tightness in my right calf but that quickly went away.  I focused on my form, trying to lean and ensuring I am landing midfoot.  All was well.  My pace for the first mile was 10:23.  I caught up to another runner who I had been pacing behind and we began chatting and getting to know each other.  Our second mile was 10:08.  By the time we hit out third mile we were down to 9:57.  I was running, breathing, talking and PAIN FREE!!!  I have a tiny blister on the inside of my right foot on the ball and even that didn’t bother me.

Shin splints?  What are those?  And this is all without the $50.00 orthotics and $40.00 compression wraps.  I am currently running in Saucony Triumph (9).  I am happy with them, but would love to try the Saucony Kinvara 2.  They have a 4mm drop vs. the 8mm drop I am currently running in.  They are well reviewed as a transition shoe for those wishing to run more naturally.

All of this change has been inspired by the book “Natural Running” by Danny Abshire.  Quick read and fantastic information on how running has changed for the worse over time.  So much makes sense!

Up next… solo run over the weekend due to my work schedule.  Back to the 10K group on Tuesday PM.  Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

